Sunny Windows and Other Places Cats Like To Sleep

Cats like to be warm and cozy, especially when it’s time for a nap. When the sun is shining through the window I know where I will find my kitties! Even on warm days they will burrow themselves under the blankets and I often wonder why they like so much heat.

A normal body temperature reading for a cat is between 100.5 – 102.5 degrees. Because their temperature is higher than a human’s they can naturally tolerate higher temperatures. Knowing that it’s easy to see why they find a sunny windows so attractive.

 

kitty in sun

Of course, if no sun is available there are many other cozy spots:

kittybedsleepy ladykitty (1)

 

 

 

 

 

On average, cats sleep anywhere between 16 – 20 hours a day. They have definitely perfected the art of sleeping! If there’s a cozy spot they will find it and squeeze their way in. Where do your cats like to sleep?

This post is part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge.  A new letter, and a new post, for every day in April!

A-Z Badge

6 thoughts on “Sunny Windows and Other Places Cats Like To Sleep

  1. I share a house with three cats…one always sleeps on the cat scratching post in a nice hammock section. She is the only one who seems to love sleeping in the sun – usually on the floor at the top of the stairs. Our orange cat is usually found on the dinette chair or trying to cuddle in my lap or with me in bed. And our youngest likes the kids’ blankets or the box window (though not when it is sunny.)

  2. Sun puddles. I love at. My Jessie cat likes to lay on my shins as I work, since I’ve always got my feet up. I love having her there. She’s so light, sometimes I even have to look to see if she’s there. She usually is. Otherwise, she likes sleeping in ‘sun puddles’ too, and she sleeps with me in bed at night, under the covers if it’s cold. Take care! Thanks for sharing. What a beautiful, beautiful cat!

  3. Pingback: Catching Some Zzzzz’s – The End of The A-Z Blogging Challenge | thekittycorner

Leave a Reply

